Skip to main content

aMessages Overview

This article will explain the aMessages tab and how it can be used.

aMessages Overview

aMessages enables secure, real-time communication and file sharing with individual contacts and groups. Messages and attachments are available in the messaging history for easy reference.

Unread messages are indicated on the aMessages tab, even when another tab is open.


Browser Notifications

aMessages notifications can appear as browser notification pop-ups, subject to browser compatibility.

Supported Browsers:

  • Microsoft Edge version 15 and later

  • Google Chrome

  • Mozilla Firefox

  • Apple Safari

When logging in for the first time, supported browsers display a permission prompt for browser notifications.

  • Browser notifications remain visible for 5 seconds.

  • Multiple activities generate a single notification.


Understanding aMessages

Refer to the image and table below to understand the aMessages screen:

No.

Title

Description

1

User/Group

Send or receive instant messages internally within a defined group or to contacts.

2

Search Users/ Groups

Use the Searchicon to locate the necessary users or groups by typing in the characters found in their names.

3

Create Group

  • Click the Add icon to create a messaging group.

  • When creating a group, the Active toggle is switched on by default. When it is turned off, the group becomes inactive, and messages cannot be sent.

  • To change this setting, hover over the group and click the Edit option from the kebab menu.

  • A group can only be deactivated once all tasks have been completed or cancelled.

4

Name

View the name of the selected user or group.

5

Date

Displays the date alongside messaging history for the selected user or group.

6

Navigation

Jump directly to the latest message from the selected user or group without manually scrolling.

7

Reply

Directly reply to messages.

8

Attachments

All the attachments in the messaging history for the selected user or group can be found in the Attachments tab, along with pertinent details including:

  • Name of the publisher.

  • Name of the attached file.

  • Upload date.

  • File size.

All attachments can be downloaded using the

arrow-in-cloud icon which appears when hover over the thumbnail (either from the attachments bar or directly from the chat).

9

Status

Indicates the status of the logged-in user.

  • Green bolt: online and connected to the platform.

  • Orange bolt: offline and disconnected from the platform.

10

Group/User Icon

For users, this displays their assigned profile image or their initials if no image is set. For groups, a group icon is displayed.

11

Send an aMessage / Create Task (within Groups)

  • Type in a text message for a selected user or group.

  • Users can directly tag others within the group by typing the @ symbol, followed by their name.

12

Attach Files

  • Attach files/images for the selected chat.

  • Alternatively, user can also drag and drop files directly from device.

13

Send

Send the message, including any attached files, to the selected user or group.

14

Asite's Help Bot

Asite's Help Bot can be accessed on this screen to answer any questions user may have.

15

Tasks [Exclusive to groups]

View or edit all of tasks under the selected group.

16

Members [Exclusive to groups]

  • Displays a list of all members in the selected group, irrespective of their online status.

  • Admins can be identified via the Admin icon next to their name.

  • User can view a member's contact card by clicking their name.

  • Group admins can add members via the Add Member button.

  • Group admins can remove members by clicking the crossicon next to their name.

17

Create a Task [Exclusive to Groups]

In a group chat, there are two ways user can create a task:

  • Click the aMessages icon to toggle task creation.

  • Type the # into the chat box, followed by the task title to create the title directly.


Viewing Group History

Admins can access the group history to view details including:

  • When and by whom a group was deactivated or reactivated

  • Which users left the group

  • Who created the group?


Manage a Messaging Group

Group settings can be managed from the More Options menu.

  1. Hover over the required group.

  2. Select More Options.

  3. Select Edit to update the group settings.

  4. Edit Group Pane will open (right).

The Active setting controls whether messages can be sent in the group.


Check: FAQs

Did this answer your question?