All Collections
Files
Publish File on a Project
Upload a Revision of an existing File
Upload a Revision of an existing File

This article helps you understand how to upload revision of an existing file on Asite.

Updated this week

Users on Asite can upload revisions on an existing file in the respective project folder.

Pre-requisites:

Apart from the required access or visibility as applicable on the file for which revision is to be uploaded, you need to have:

  1. Permission as mentioned below, on the project folder in which a revision of an existing file is to be uploaded:

    1. To upload or publish files, 'Publish' or 'Publish & Link' or 'Admin' permission.
      Folder permissions defined at default level or at role level can be over-ridden. Click here for detailed help (See point 4).

Additionally, below conditions should be satisfied for the file on which a revision is to be uploaded:

  1. File must be active in the project folder where it is located.

  2. Activity lock status as mentioned below, on the latest active version of the file for which a revision is to be uploaded.

    1. 'Revision Upload' activity shouldn't be locked.

  3. Checkout status as mentioned below, on the file for which revision is to be uploaded.

    1. File shouldn't be checked out.

Limitations:

  1. File shouldn't have a running workflow or a system task that restricts upload of new revisions.

  2. A file revision cannot be uploaded on a static or dynamic file link (as it would already be linked to some other project folder).


Below are the steps for uploading a revision of an existing file:

1. First select the project and destination folder containing the current version of the file on which a revision is to be uploaded.

2. On files listing area, click on 'Upload' dropdown at top right and select 'Files' to upload files to Asite. This option validates for your permission to upload new files to the selected folder.

Alternately, find the concerned files using the search options and right click on it, then select 'New' then 'Revision'. It will allow you to directly select file revisions from your local network and then skip to step 4 below.

3. A popup screen will appear allowing you to select files for upload.

4. Select the file revision to be uploaded and drag them to the upload area or click 'Select Files' button to browse and select required files.


There are two possible scenarios when you are uploading a file revision on to a project folder.


Scenario 1 - If the file is uploaded with the same name as the previous revision

This means that the file revision being uploaded has the same 'File Name' matching with its previously uploaded version. In such a scenario, the 'Doc Ref' value cannot be changed as the field will become non-editable as shown above. When entering a revision number in such cases, you will be able to mouse hover on the 'Rev' field and find out the revision number of previous file revision. You can then enter other necessary details and continue uploading the file revision. Click here for detailed help.

Scenario 2 - If the file is uploaded with a different name than the previous revision

This means that the file revision being uploaded has a different 'File Name' not matching with its previously uploaded version. In such a scenario, you can click on icon to select an existing document reference from a list of files in selected folder.

Here, you can find and select the file name as per previously uploaded version, then click 'Select' button at the bottom to confirm. Next, enter other necessary details on the 'Upload' screen including the revision number and continue uploading the file revision. Click here for detailed help.

5. To distribute files, click on icon. Upload window expands and displays a section with 'To' and 'Subject' fields. Click here for detailed help on how to upload files with distribution.

If uploading and distributing a new revision of any file which was previously uploaded and distributed, you will see icon opposite the 'To' field. Click on it to pre-populate 'To' field with objects/users to whom the revision was shared previously.

Note:

  • Selecting a distribution group, a role or an organization is treated as an object, and when pre-populating them in any future case, they will be pre-populated as entire object and not as individual recipient from the object.

  • When project setting 'Enable Object level visibility of private information' is enabled, distributed objects (i.e. Distribution Groups/Roles/Organization) will be automatically assigned visibility when file is distributed using the object.

6. Click 'Upload' once done. If uploading multiple files at a time, the files which have 'Revision Upload' activity locked will be filtered out automatically.


Check: FAQs


Did this answer your question?