Distribute Files

This article helps you understand how to distribute a file while uploading or after upload.

Updated this week

You are able to distribute a file while uploading it as well as after the file is uploaded. Click on a relevant link below to continue:

Distribute from Files Listing Area

From the listing area, right click on the file to distribute, select 'Share' then 'Distribute Files' option. It opens a layered screen with 'To' and 'Subject' fields.

Click in the 'To' box to see a list of users or roles or distribution groups from which you can add a recipient name for distribution. Type in the initial characters of the user, role or distribution group to get auto-suggestions based on the same.
​
To expand distribution groups or roles and find the users in it, click on icon that will appear upon mouse hover on the concerned distribution group or role name.
​
Note:
Selecting a distribution group, a role or an organization is treated as an object, and when pre-populating them in any future case, they will be pre-populated as entire object and not as individual recipient from the object.

By default, 'For Information' task associates to all the users added in the 'To' textbox. In 'For Information' task, it is not mandatory to select a task due date while assigning 'For Information' task.


To change the task, click on the name of specific user for whom the task needs to be changed. You can select the task from dropdown as well as select the expected date to complete the tasks from calendar.


The yellow color on envelope icon (​) indicates email notification will be sent for selected file distribution. It is a switch icon which can be turned off (if email notification need not be sent) or vice versa. If switch is turned off, the envelope icon would then show in grey color.


Click on icon to give other tasks to the same user. You can do this for individual users as well as users in a particular distribution group or role.


Click on icon corresponding to the name of selected distribution groups, users, roles or organizations to remove them from distribution.

Subject - Enter the notes for tasks being assigned.


Once done, click on 'Distribute' button to complete the distribution and close the distribution screen.


Check: FAQs

Related Articles: Share Asite File Link

Next Article: Link Files


Did this answer your question?