All Collections
Files
Folder Options on a Project
View Permissions on a Folder in a Project
View Permissions on a Folder in a Project

This article helps you understand how to view the permissions on your Asite project folder.

Updated this week

Users on Asite can view permissions on the folders accessible to them. Below are the steps to view permissions on a folder:

1. To view folder permission, you need to right click on the parent / sub folder.


2. Click on 'View Folder Permission' option to view the folder permission as displayed in below screenshot.

3. Clicking on 'View Folder Permission', files listing page will populate a layered page with 'Folder Permission' window.

Below is a description of the available folder permissions for your reference:

No Access

Selected user or role having 'No Access' permission won’t have any access on the folder.

View Only

Selected user or role having 'View Only' permission will only be able to view files. User will not be able to download file irrespective of their role privilege.

View & Download

Selected user or role having 'View & Download' permission will be able to view existing files as well as download them. File download will be subject to user's role privilege to download file.

View & Link

Selected user or role having 'View & Link' permission will be able to view existing files as well as link them to folders in the same or other projects.


Publish

Selected user or role having 'Publish' permission will be able to view existing as well as upload new files (includes uploading files on placeholders).


Publish & Link

Selected user or role having 'Publish & Link' permission will be able to view existing files, upload new files (includes uploading files on placeholders) as well as link them to folders in the same or other projects.

Admin

Selected user or role having 'Admin' permission will have full control over the folder. Along-with viewing, downloading, linking and publishing files, a folder administrator can edit the folder, view private files, checkout files or undo the checkout as well as apply activity locks on files.

4. Folder permissions defined at default level or at role level can be over-ridden.

Any folder permission defined at user level is always given the highest priority. Then comes the role level and then the default level. For example:

  • If you are specifically assigned 'Publish' permission at user level on a folder, you will get 'Publish' permission on that particular folder.

    • If you are not specifically assigned a permission at user level, it will then depend on your permission defined at role level. In such a case, if your role is assigned 'Publish' permission', you will get 'Publish' permission on that particular folder.

      • If your role is also not specifically assigned a permission, you will get the permission as defined at default level on that particular folder.

5. Click on 'Cancel' to close this window.


Check: FAQs

Related Articles: Edit a Folder, Move Folder


Did this answer your question?