All Collections
Projects
Project Options
Define Distribution Groups in a Project
Define Distribution Groups in a Project

This article helps you understand how to define and manage distribution groups in your projects.

Updated over a week ago

Click on a relevant topic to continue:


Create New Distribution Group

Pre-requisites:

Role privilege as mentioned below, on the project in which a new distribution group is to be created:

Below are the steps to define and manage distribution groups in a project:

1. In 'Projects' area, navigate to the project where distribution groups need to be defined or managed.

2. Right click on the required project and select 'Settings' then select 'Distribution Groups'.

Alternately, in the thumb view, do a mouse hover on the project thumbnail and click on icon. A layered page opens. Click on 'Distribution Groups'.


3. It opens the 'Manage Distribution Groups' window which enables you to add new, amend and delete the existing distribution groups and their permissions.

4. To create a new distribution group, click on 'Add Distribution Group' button which adds a new blank record and enables you to enter the group name and group type.

5. Enter the distribution group name. Select documents / apps(forms) / dashboards / filters from 'Type' dropdown to define group type. You can edit name of any existing group from here.

6. To assign users, click or type in the characters in the distribution list box and you can view suggested names for roles, organization and users. You can also search user's name by typing in their email address. Same feature can be used to change assignment in any existing group as well.

7. To assign tasks with time-line to users, click on the user record and select appropriate values from the dropdown list. Same feature can be used to change tasks and task time for any existing distribution group members.

Important Note: In case of a distribution group for forms, remember to ensure that the user task you select under distribution group is/are specifically co-related and enabled in the relevant form settings otherwise that particular task won't be distributed. Below is a table to understand the co-relation between tasks available while creating a form distribution group and tasks available in the form settings for any particular form.


Selected task types - For Comment, For Comment Coordination, For Comment Incorp. and For Publishing - are not applicable for forms and hence shouldn't be used specifically while creating form distribution groups.

Terminology under form distribution group

Co-related Terminology under form settings

For Acknowledgement

For Acknowledgement

For Action

For Action

For Comment

Not Applicable

For Comment Coordination

Not Applicable

For Comment Incorp.

Not Applicable

For Distribution

Distribute

For Information

For Information

For Publishing

Not Applicable

For Status Change

Assign Status

Tasks cannot be assigned if creating distribution group of type 'Dashboards'/'Filters' as such distribution groups are meant for sharing purpose only.

Note - During distribution, the calculation for number of days for task to be completed may be dependent upon working days and / or holidays defined in working calendar.

8. While creating a new distribution group, it assigns default values in access i.e. default [no access], <<workspace administrator>> [admin] and <<creating user>>[admin].

9. You can change the access permission by clicking on roles, organization or user name in 'Security' field and select appropriate option. Same feature can be used to change the access rights of roles / organization / users in any existing group as well.

10. Click 'Save' to complete creating a new distribution group or complete editing of any existing group.

11. Click on 'X' against any distribution group record to delete it.


Using Bulk Apply Option

Bulk apply option enables you to edit multiple distribution groups in one go. Editing includes performing changes in distribution list and changes in security i.e. access control of distribution groups.

1. Select the checkbox against the distribution groups which are to be modified.

2. Click on 'Bulk Apply' button in top right corner of screen, a new popup window will come up.

3. Select distribution list from the 'Change Type' dropdown to:

Add new users to selected group - select 'Add User' option

Remove users from selected group - select 'Remove Users' option

Change tasks of users in selected group - select 'Change Task' option

To add new users, select the users to be added from users list on left and click right arrow button, multiple selection by pressing 'Ctrl' key is allowed.

Now select the appropriate task and task time for each user. Bulk apply can be used to give similar task and task time to all selected users.

Note - During distribution, the calculation for number of days for task to be completed may be dependent upon working days and / or holidays defined in working calendar.

4. Select 'Security' from the 'Change Type' dropdown to:

Add permission to users in selected groups - Select 'Add Permission' option

Remove permission of users from selected groups - Select 'Remove Permission' option

Change permission of users in selected group - Select 'Change Permission' option

To add new permissions select the users from the list available on left side and click right arrow button, multiple selection by pressing 'Ctrl' key is allowed. Now select the appropriate permission for users from dropdown list.


No Access

User will not be able to use this distribution group.

Access to Use

User will be able to use this distribution group.

Admin

User will have admin rights on this distribution group i.e. they can modify the group and even delete it.

5. Click on 'Apply' to save your changes.


Check: FAQs


Did this answer your question?