Log In to aSync

This article helps you understand how to log in to aSync application.

Updated this week

Once you have installed aSync, you will be able to login and start editing your files from Asite and publish revisions as and when needed. Below are the steps describing how you can log in to aSync:

Cloud Login

Open the aSync application and log in screen will appear. Choose the relevant cloud - Asite Cloud / Asite US Gov. Cloud (Hosted in AWS GovCloud (US) / Asite UAE Cloud / Asite KSA Cloud / Asite Canada Cloud / Asite Hong Kong Cloud, and enter your login details i.e. your registered email address and your Asite account password.

Email Id - Enter your email address that was used to register with Asite.

Password - Enter your Asite password.

Select 'Remember Me' box if you want to avoid entering login credentials the next time you open aSync application on your computer.

If you haven't registered with Asite yet, click here for detailed help on how to create an account with Asite.

Single Sign-On

If your account demands or is configured to use Single Sign-On, click on 'Use Single Sign-On (SSO)' option available at the bottom of login screen.
​

This will open the Single Sign-On screen as shown below:
​

To login using Single Sign-On, choose the relevant cloud - Asite Cloud / Asite US Gov. Cloud (Hosted in AWS GovCloud (US) / Asite UAE Cloud / Asite KSA Cloud / Asite Canada Cloud / Asite Hong Kong Cloud - as applicable, then enter your registered email address for login.
​

The ability for single sign on via aSync outside organization network can be enabled after engaging with the Asite Professional and Infrastructure teams.

You can switch back to Cloud Login option by clicking on 'Use Cloud Login' link from the Single Sign-On screen as well.

Click on 'Login' button after entering required details. If the password entered was incorrect or in case you are unable to login, follow required instructions as mentioned on your screen. Once logged in, the welcome screen will appear.

aSync application window will reappear if you right click on a file from Asite web application and use the 'Edit File' option.

Your profile picture will appear at the top right. Below are the options available when you click on the profile picture:

Your aSync Preferences

Click on 'Preferences' to set your project folder synchronization preferences in aSync, for folders on which synchronization is enabled. It will populate sync preferences as follows:

You can select any one of the radio button options. By default, 'Automatic Sync records' option is kept enabled for all users.

  • Automatic Sync records - Select this option if you need records in project folders enabled for synchronizing to synchronize automatically. Currently, synchronization will work only one way i.e. from your local device storage to Asite Cloud. Works only if simple upload is enabled on the project folder selected for synchronization.
    To understand how to automatically sync file records via aSync, click here.

  • Ask before syncing - Select this option if you'd prefer to be asked with a confirmation message before starting to synchronize if you have edited any existing file records.

Enable Sync

Clicking on 'Enable Sync' option, it will display list of projects selected in your project filter on Asite web application.

Click on arrow icon pointing to the right side corresponding to the project name to expand and view folders available under that project.

Similarly, if there are subfolders available under a folder at any level, you can expand them by clicking on the corresponding arrow icon pointing to the right side as applicable.

To select folders for enabling synchronization, select the checkbox corresponding to the folder name. At this stage, You can also identify your favourite folders as they will have a black star icon corresponding to them.

The folders enabled for synchronizing will appear separately in your local device storage with the same folder structure at the below path:

'C' drive / Users / <user_name> / aSync / <project_name>

Once synchronization is enabled, the files in the selected folder are ready to be synchronized from your local device storage to Asite Cloud i.e. Any changes in the working folder on your local device storage can be updated in the Asite web application based on your aSync preferences.

Exit from aSync

Click on 'Exit' option to exit the aSync application window. If you just need to minimize the aSync application, click on '-' icon available next to the profile picture.

Logout from aSync

Click on 'Logout' to log out of your Asite account in aSync application.

Even if the aSync window gets closed, it will continue running in the background. In such a scenario, you can open its window from the system tray by clicking on aSync application icon.

If there is an update available for your aSync app, you will be prompted to upgrade to the latest version as applicable.

Click on 'Update' to proceed with upgrading to the latest available version, else click 'Later' in case you plan to update later.

Below are the options available while right clicking on the aSync system tray icon:

Open App - Open the aSync app window.

Update - Update your aSync app. Only applicable if there is an updated version of aSync app available, other than the one already installed on your computer.

Help - Open online help guide available for aSync app.

About - Check aSync version number installed in your computer.

Logout - Log out from your Asite account in aSync application.

Exit - Completely exit and close the aSync application in your computer. Once you have clicked 'Exit', aSync will stop running in the background as well unless opened again.


Next Article: Edit File with aSync


Did this answer your question?