All Collections
Files
Working with Files
Assign / Remove Visibility
Assign / Remove Visibility

This article helps you understand how to assign or remove visibility on your files in Asite.

Updated this week

Understanding basics of File Visibility (i.e. Access)

A private file is visible to user under all/any one of the below mentioned scenario:

1. User is assigned the Folder Administrator permission on the folder. Click here for detailed help on how to assign permissions on a folder.

2. User is assigned any task on the private file. Click here for detailed help on how to distribute a file.

3. User is assigned the visibility using the visibility option on the private file.


Assigning Visibility

Users on Asite having role privilege 'Can Edit Visibility of Objects' can assign or remove visibility on any of the private files accessible to them, where project setting 'Enable Object level visibility of private information' is enabled.

Below are the steps to assign visibility on a project file:

1. Right click on a private file and select 'Visibility' option.

2. The screen to assign visibility for selected file will appear.

3. Click on 'To' field to select users, distribution groups, roles or organisations to assign visibility.

4. Click 'Save' button to complete assigning the visibility on selected file.


โ€‹Note:

a. Selecting a distribution group, a role or an organization is treated as an object.

b. Objects (i.e. Distribution Groups/Roles/Organization) will be automatically assigned visibility when file is distributed using the object.

c. Any new users added to that object will automatically get visibility on the file. Any users having visibility via that object will lose visibility (i.e. Access) if he/she is removed from that object.

d. Visibility can be edited using the same steps. All Users/Distribution Groups/Roles/Organizations having visibility will be pre-populated.


Removing Visibility

While Editing Visibility a icon appears against the existing distribution group, role or organization, will be available. Clicking on the same will remove visibility of the same.

Note: Removing visibility of an object/user will remove that user/object from visibility option, however their actual access on the file will be based on any/all of the condition stated above.



Did this answer your question?