View Audit History of a File open in Viewer

This article helps you understand how to view audit history of a file open in viewer.

Updated this week

Click on a topic below for detailed help:

Accessing File History

Open the required file in viewer for which you need to access file history.

Next, follow the steps for navigating to File Viewer More Options.

In the 'More Options' menu, select 'History' option (under 'More Info' category) to view file history which includes distribution, revision, status, access and historic markups as applicable for selected project. You need to have the role privilege 'Can Access Audit Information' for viewing audit history.

The history popup will open within file viewer. While viewing the file history, you can filter different types of history based on file revision using the dropdown option available at top right. Additionally, you can always export the file history details as an excel file by clicking on excel icon available at top right. See 'File History More Options' below for further details.

Distribution history contains details of distribution that has happened on selected file. It includes revision number, version number, name and organization of the user who distributed the file and if recipient was notified via email or not, recipient object and user, recipient task and its current status along-with due date and when the task was assigned, task notes (notes captured from the subject line while file was distributed), task completion date (if completed), transmittal number (number to keep track of file distribution instances) and remarks if any.

Revision history contains details of revisions uploaded for selected file record. It includes the file name of the revision uploaded, revision number, version number,

document title, details of who published each file revision and when along-with status,

purpose of issue and revision notes if any.

Status history contains details of instances when status was changed on selected file. It shows both the new status as well as the old status including the details of user who changed the status, when it happened and the reason mentioned by the user while changing the status.

Access history contains details of type of access taken and by whom along-with date, message id and remarks if any. Exact time when specific activity was performed can be identified (if available) when you mouse over on the date value in the related history section. In case proxy access was taken while performing any of the activity, it would be indicated with icon on which you can mouse over and find out the user who had taken that particular proxy access.

'Historic Markups' will contain file with markups in PDF format as applicable for selected file, for projects which had migrated from Thin Client Viewer (now discontinued) to Universal Web Viewer. This means that all such markups created in Thin Client Viewer can only be accessed as a PDF file and cannot be opened or edited in Universal Web Viewer.

For a scenario in which the user has a pending 'For Comment Coordination' task on the file with markup created in Thin Client Viewer, only in such cases you will have an option to open that particular file with markup in Thin Client Viewer, as well as consolidate markup if required.

Consolidated Historic Markup record will include only the public markups available on file. In addition to that while viewing a file, if there is any historic markups available for the file, a message will be displayed to quickly navigate to the old markups by clicking on the corresponding link.

Use the search box to search the history using keywords.

File History More Options

Follow the steps for accessing file history, then select the history records for using the applicable icon options showing at top right side.

Below is a description of various icons available:

Icon

Title

Purpose

More Options

To clear, delegate, deactivate, reactivate tasks for the selected file distribution. Click the links below to learn more:

Export

To export the file history in MS excel format.

Refresh

To refresh the content within the popup.

Maximize

To maximize the popup.

Dock Content

To dock the content within the same page so that you don't need to click again to view the popup content.

Undock Content

To undock the docked content.

Close

To close the popup.

Clear Tasks

Users on Asite having the privilege 'Can Clear Tasks - Own' / 'Can Clear Tasks - Organization' / 'Can Clear Tasks - Workspace' on a project can clear tasks on their

project.

To clear one or more tasks that are incomplete, follow the steps for accessing file history more options, then select the tasks using the available checkboxes and click on 'Clear Tasks'. Availability of the option to clear tasks may depend upon your accessibility.

Selected tasks will be cleared and a message will appear at the top side of viewer confirming the same.

Delegate Tasks

Users on Asite having the privilege 'Can Delegate Tasks - Own' / 'Can Delegate Tasks - Organizations' / 'Can Delegate Tasks - Workspace' on a project can delegate tasks

of users on that particular project.

To delegate one or more tasks that are incomplete to other users, follow the steps for accessing file history more options, then select the tasks using the available checkboxes and click on 'Delegate Tasks'. Availability of the option to delegate tasks may depend upon your accessibility.

In the 'To' box select the user to whom this task needs to be delegated.

You will get three options while delegating tasks:

a. Existing Due Date - To keep the original due date of the task unchanged.

b. Re-calculate days by actual distribution - To recalculate the task due days from date of delegation.

c. User Definition - To select a new due date for this delegation.

Once done, click on 'Delegate Task' button to complete delegating the selected tasks.

Deactivate Tasks

Users on Asite having the privilege 'Can Deactivate Document Tasks - Own Org' / 'Can Deactivate Document Tasks - All Orgs' on a project can deactivate file tasks of users

on that particular project.

To deactivate one or more tasks that are incomplete, follow the steps for accessing file history more options, then select the tasks using the available checkboxes and click on 'Deactivate Tasks'. Availability of the option to deactivate tasks may depend upon your accessibility.

Selected tasks will be deactivated and a message will appear at the top side of the viewer confirming the same.

Reactivate Tasks

Users on Asite having the privilege 'Can Reactivate Document Tasks - Own Org' / 'Can Reactivate Document Tasks - All Orgs' on a project can reactivate file tasks of users

on that particular project.

To reactivate one or more tasks that are deactivated, follow the steps for accessing file history more options, then select the tasks using the available checkboxes and click on 'Reactivate Tasks'. Availability of the option to reactivate tasks may depend upon your accessibility.

Selected tasks will be reactivated and a message will appear at the top side of the viewer confirming the same.



Did this answer your question?